My very first Beavertail experience!

For the very first time in my life I have made it to Ottawa!

Ottawa, I must say, is stunning.  Jeff and I toured the streets and were absolutely impressed with every corner we turned and all the history that was there to be absorbed!

I am almost ashamed to admit that, as a Canadian and on top of not being to our nations capital until now, I have never had a beavertail.  Even Obama has had a beavertail before me!!!

What is a beavertail you ask?

Well you are not alone, I asked the same thing to my very best friend Rachel who was adamant that I eat one of these things…good thing I listened!

A beavertail is a pastry that is shaped like, surprise surprise, a beavers tail.

Beavertails is a small shop found in the heart of the Byward market, but you can smell the sweet smell of frying pastry a mile a way!

note: as you can see Jeff is already starting to eat!

So we walk up to the booth to order our very first beavertail.  We had just eaten breakfast so I order the simplest one, brown sugar and cinnamon, but Jeff very quickly put the kibosh to that!

What we ended up ordering by his doing was the banana and chocolate beavertail….I HIGHLY RECOMMEND!!!!!

A few short minutes later, Jeff and I had tackled our first beavertail and were delighted to find such a delicious treat!

All in all this was a HUGE success and if the only thing I ended up doing in Ottawa was tasting one of these beavertails, I would have been ok with that 🙂

Thank you again Rachel for the suggestion….now I have to figure out how to make these at home! 🙂

2 thoughts on “My very first Beavertail experience!

  1. Rachel November 25, 2012 at 8:52 am Reply

    I am so happy you finally experienced Ottawa and most importantly a Beavertail! I will be your official taste tester when you try them yourself 🙂

Leave a Reply

