Deb Perelman Book Signing!

SO SO SO Excited!

I had the immense pleasure of going to the Deb Perelman book signing last night in Toronto!!

Deb and I!

For those of you who do not know who Deb Perelman is, you should!  I was introduced to the Smitten Kitchen blog, found here, by Jessie a friend of mine and a huge baking enthusiast as well!

Jessie always told me that she felt like Deb was a part of her family and that her and her sister talk about her like she is “Aunt Deb”.  I never quite understood how, without knowing a person, you could feel that way about someone, until I started following the Smitten Kitchen blog!

Not only do I love the fantastic recipes that are posted on the blog, I also love the story that is delivered with the recipes.  Deb will take you on her journey of how she came up with the recipe to attempts taken, to the corrections made and finally to the end product, which is always a stunning dish that is absolutely delicious!  While taking you on this journey she makes you feel like you are right in the kitchen with her!

After following the blog for going on two years now, I was super excited to hear that she was making a cook book and to top off that excitement, she was coming to Toronto for a book signing!!!!

Jessie and I immediately determined that this was an event we were attending and I couldn’t be happier.  We went to the book signing last night where Deb was interviewed and the audience had the chance to ask questions, our question was chosen of course 🙂

We asked her if she preferred to bake or to cook, part of her response, which both Jessie and I can relate to, was that she bakes to receive favours.  This is something that Jessie and I are all too familiar with as we will both bake, bring it into work and then ask for a favour….no shame!

Last night was a great experience.  I was able to meet Deb, the face of Smitten Kitchen, hear her talk about cooking/baking as her passion, receive tips for blogging and finally, to top off this awesome night, I met her in person, took a picture with her and she signed my cook book!!

I strongly recommend you take a look at her blog and try out some of her recipes, I can guarantee you will not be disappointed!

Enjoy!

 

Leave a Reply

